#BlogTour #Review : Death at the Gates by Katie Gayle. @KatieGayleBooks @bookouture

Today I’m reviewing the latest book in the Epiphany Bloom series. Many thanks to Bookouture for having me on the tour and sending me a copy of the book to review.

The Book:

Hurlingham House school is a high-achiever’s heaven, full of happy, hard-working pupils. There’s just the small matter of the dead body on the field… Sounds like a case for Epiphany Bloom!

When Epiphany Bloom’s best friend’s sister Claire is accused of trading exam papers for money, Epiphany agrees to see Ms Peters, the headteacher of Claire’s fiercely competitive school, to provide moral support. Claire has always been a model student and is loudly protesting her innocence: surely it’s all just a misunderstanding.

But when Ms Peters hears about Epiphany’s previous sleuthing exploits, she enlists her help to track down the true culprit!

Taking a job as a PE teacher, Epiphany soon realises she has plenty of suspects for the exam scam mastermind. The broke young teacher with a shady past? The father willing to buy his daughter anything – including grades? The school governor desperate to keep Hurlingham House at the top of the ranks?

Then Epiphany finds one of them dead at the school fair, and it becomes clear someone is taking the cut-throat culture of the school too literally – and when mysterious accidents start happening around her too, it seems the killer knows she’s onto them.

Can Epiphany solve the murder as well as clearing Claire’s name, before she becomes the next victim? This is one test she can’t afford to fail…

A charming and totally addictive cozy mystery with a hilarious and warm-hearted heroine. A must-read for fans of M.C. Beaton, Lee Strauss and Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series.

Buy Link:Amazon: https://bit.ly/3BK4h1u

The Review: I’ve read and enjoyed the first book in this series so had an idea of what to expect in this one and wasn’t disappointed. It’s probably best to at least read the first book before this one, it doesn’t really work as a stand alone because of the character development and changes that take place in each book.

This is shaping up to be a fun series, I found myself laughing at this book in places and that’s something that rarely ever happens with me and books. I like Epiphany as a character, she’s fun, kind and trying to do her best even though that does have a tendency to end in disaster at times. This time she’s at a school investigating exam cheating. I got so caught up in this part of the story that the murder rather caught me by surprise, I’d completely forgotten the title and blurb included a death. Epiphany (Pip) and the other characters are brilliantly described, this is another one of those books where I felt like I was there, invisibly obviously, but right next to Pip the whole time, experiencing everything she did. I even got the same anxious feeling as her when the headteacher summoned her to the office!

I don’t want to say too much, the last thing I want to do is give anything away. However I can say this is a brilliant read, it’s ideal escapism, perfect if you like a heroine that’s not perfect by trying her best. It involves murder, cheating, some running, a bit of bingo and llamas amongst other things. Clearly something a little different.

If you’re after a cosy mystery that will take you on a bit of a whirlwind adventure without you having to leave your sofa then this is an ideal book for you. I’m definitely catching up on book 2 when I have time and this series is now on my list of ones to look out for. More please!

The Author:

Katie Gayle is the writing partnership of best-selling South African writers, Kate Sidley and Gail Schimmel. Kate and Gail have, between them, written over ten books of various genres, but with Katie Gayle, they both make their debut in the cozy mystery genre. Both Gail and Kate live in Johannesburg, with husbands, children, dogs and cats. Unlike their sleuth Epiphany Bloom, neither of them have ever stolen a cat from the vet.

https://www.facebook.com/KatieGayleWriter
https://twitter.com/KatieGayleBooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s