#BlogTour #Review : Always and Forever at Glendale Hall by Victoria Walters. @Vicky_Walters @HeraBooks @rararesources

Today I’m thrilled to be sharing my review of another book set in the village of Glendale. Many thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources and Hera Books for having me on the tour and sending me a copy of the book to review.

The Book:

What if we’re all just searching for something?

Anna Stewart is lost. After barely surviving a car accident as a teenager, Anna is scared of settling. Flitting between jobs, boyfriends and homes whenever she gets bored, she has no idea what the future holds. Then her brother Brodie, minister of Glendale, suggests she moves to the beautiful Scottish village, lining up a housekeeper job for her at Glendale Hall.

Out of options, Anna agrees to the move, knowing that she can always run away again. Once at the hall, her culinary skills impress everyone, and she agrees to give Hilltop Farm’s new manager, Cameron, cooking lessons. Sparks fly between Anna and the handsome Scot, but Cameron is looking for love – something that Anna definitely isn’t.

But it’s wedding season at Glendale Hall, and Anna is about to discover that her new home has a way of working its magic on even the coldest of hearts. Will she really be able to just walk away, or could Anna have finally found a place to belong?

It’s summertime in the beautiful Highland village of Glendale – pack your bags and come on holiday with this gorgeously uplifting, romantic read. Fans of Milly Johnson, Heidi Swain and Holly Martin will love this charming romcom.

Purchase Links:

AMZ: https://amzn.to/31xhdY0

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3sCeDf8

Apple: https://apple.co/2PJNQi9

The Review: I’ve just noticed in the book blurb above that this book is described at a romcom. I would have to say I disagree, so if you’re one of those people like me who tends not to find books advertised as comedy particularly funny then don’t worry, this is still a book you can read and enjoy.

I’m not sure where the romcom reference comes from, as I’ve said I didn’t find it a funny story, so that puzzles me. However, what I did find is a story that was like a big enveloping hug, or your favourite cardigan/jumper, or a warm sunny day, or a rainy day with a fire and your favourite drink. This is a book that instantly relaxed me. I’ve read previous books sent in Glendale so the characters are familiar but that doesn’t mean previous books need to be read before this one, it definitely can work as a stand alone. Even with the familiarity of the characters, because this story follows Anna and, to a lesser extent, Cameron, we get a slightly different side of the existing characters. Although Anna is Brodie’s sister, and Brodie is an existing character, she barely knows the people or the village so there’s little existing familiarity from her perspective. This gives us the opportunity to almost get to know the characters again, hence why it works as a stand alone.

The village and the characters are brilliantly described and easily come to life. It’s so well done that I’m partly convinced that Glendale is a real place, I just haven’t found it yet. Because the significant characters are so realistic it feels like I’m dropping in on their lives and observing without being seen. I especially love books in which I feel I’m there watching and participating in everything I’m reading and Victoria Walters books always have that effect on me.

This is a gorgeous read. It doesn’t shy away from some trickier topics but it’s such a lovely story that it will envelope you, make you feel as if you’re there while also hopefully making you feel as relaxed as I did reading it. It as as if the rest of reality ceased to exist while I was reading and there was only Glendale and the book characters and me. Definitely something I think we could benefit from when we need an escape and perhaps more so at the moment while things are still uncertain. I love reading this authors books and I can’t wait to see what she produces next.

The Author:

Victoria Walters writes up-lifting and inspiring stories. She’s the author of three novels, THE SECOND LOVE OF MY LIFE, SUMMER AT THE KINDNESS CAFÉ, and COMING HOME TO GLENDALE HALL. She has been chosen for WHSmith Fresh Talent and shortlisted for an RNA award. Victoria was also picked as an Amazon Rising Star, and her books have won wide reader acclaim.

Victoria is a full-time author. She lives in Surrey with her cat Harry, and loves books, clothes, music, going out for tea and cake, and posting photos on Instagram.

Find out more about Victoria by following on Instagram at @vickyjwalters, on Twitter at @Vicky_Walters or by visiting her blog at:https://victoria-writes.com/.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s