#BlogTour #Review : New Beginnings at Glendale Hall by Victoria Walters. @Vicky_Walters @HeraBooks @rararesources

Today I’m taking part in the blog tour for New Beginnings at Glendale Hall, written by the same author of Summer at the Kindness Cafe which I reviewed last year. Many thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for having me on the tour and Hera Books for approving me a copy of the book through Netgalley.

New Beginnings at Glendale Hall

Blurb: Two weddings and a baby…but who will get their happy ever after?

Emily Prescott’s life isn’t going to plan. Her dreams of starting a family with fireman boyfriend Greg and opening up her own bakery in London feel like they will never come true. So when a wedding invite arrives from her oldest friend, Beth Williams, Emily is thrilled. Not only will she get to return to her childhood home in Scotland, but best of all – Beth wants her to bake the wedding cake!

However, her excitement is cut short when she discovers that Greg has cheated on her. Devastated by his betrayal, Emily flees to Glendale Hall, Beth’s grand estate in the Highlands, and tries to distracts herself with helping with the wedding plans, but that’s not easy when Greg keeps hounding her to forgive him. Then she’s introduced to Glendale’s new young and handsome vicar Brodie, and things become even more complicated.

When Emily discovers that Greg’s betrayal runs deeper than she imagined, she finds herself with a whole host of decisions to make, especially when she discovers her long awaited dream is finally being fulfilled – at exactly at the wrong time…

Escape to Scotland and fall in love with this gorgeous and inspiring romance from the bestselling author of Coming Home to Glendale Hall! The perfect feel-good read for fans of Holly Martin, Heidi Swain, and Jill Mansell.

Purchase Links

AMZ: https://amzn.to/2Lm0T4i Kobo http://bit.ly/3632sMI Apple: https://apple.co/2ryPrfn

New Beginnings at Glendale Hall FINAL

My Review: First things first, this book follows on from Coming Home to Glendale Hall as some characters appear in both. It’s not necessary to read the other book first, I haven’t and can tell you this book reads well as a stand alone. Ideal if, like me, you only find out about the first book when you’re going to read the second.

This story is all about Emily and the upheaval that occurs when she find out her boyfriend Greg has betrayed her trust, and in more ways than one. Her first instinct is to go north, to Glendale for some space to think, and I agree with her thinking. Here we get introduced to the remaining characters in the story and then get to watch as Emily’s life changes, and changes, and changes.

Like the other book i’ve read by this author, I loved this story. There were parts when I wondered where it was heading but then I saw that more changes or decisions were needed before Emily could move on to the life that was meant to be hers. I liked Emily and could understand the struggles she was having trying to make the unexpected decisions that she had been landed with. I wasn’t a huge fan of Greg though he did improve later in the story. I can understand him trying to hide the position he was in but that aside I didn’t like his personality and don’t know what Emily ever saw in him, but that’s just my opinion.

Sometimes things in your life change suddenly and it’s only when those changes are over or almost over, that you can see that they were needed. It was good to see Emily grow and change through the course of the story and to see how she dealt with the challenges that came her way. It was also good to see her have support from friends and family as she dealt with everything. Everyone should have support from people, and a gorgeous village to escape to, when they experience upheaval but sadly some of us will just have to make do with the fictional kind.

The descriptions of the village and the people in it made me want to move their myself, it sounded so tranquil and supportive. As will become apparent early on, there are a lot of cakes mentioned in the story too so maybe a good idea to read this when you have tea/coffee and cake to hand. Oh, and make sure you have tissues too, I went through quite a few when reading.

This is one of those books which is like a cosy, supportive hug. It’s the written version of someone who brings you hot chocolate and a blanket and tells you everything will be OK in time, and stays with you until it is.

About the author:

Victoria Walters author picture

Victoria Walters writes up-lifting and inspiring stories. Her moving debut novel THE SECOND LOVE OF MY LIFE was chosen for WHSmith Fresh Talent and shortlisted for an RNA award. Victoria was also picked as an Amazon Rising Star. Her heart-warming new novel SUMMER AT THE KINDNESS CAFE is available to download now.

As well as being an author, Victoria also works as a Waterstones bookseller and buys far too many books there. She lives in Surrey with her cat Harry (named after Harry Potter). Victoria is not only obsessed with books but loves buying slogan tops, mugs and notebooks, and posting them all on Instagram.

You can discover more about Victoria – and find pictures of Harry the cat – by following her on Instagram at @vickyjwalters, on Twitter at @Vicky_Walters or by visiting her blog at:https://victoria-writes.com/

New Beginnings at Glendale Hall Full Tour Banner (1)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s