#BlogTour #GuestPost : The Things We Need to Say by Rachel Burton. @NeverlandBT @bookish_yogi

Today I am thrilled to be involved in the blog tour for The Things We Need to Say.  Many thanks to Jenny at Neverland Blog Tours for letting me be involved.  As you probably know I have barely 5 minutes to myself these days so unfortunately haven’t been able to review this fabulous sounding book but I do have a guest post for you, about Costa Dorada and the authors three favourite things to do in the area so read on and enjoy!

things we need to say tour

A true novel of the heart, Rachel’s The Things We Need to Say is at once beautifully written and achingly honest. This is a story that carries you away, taking you on an incredibly poignant journey, and which stays with you long after you finish. Read it! Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky

‘Devastatingly beautiful, inspiring and extremely thought provoking; Rachel Burton has written from the heart as she unintentionally becomes the voice of everything we need to say.’ The Writing Garnet

Blurb:  Sometimes the things we never say are the most important.

Fran loves Will with all her heart. They had a whirlwind romance, a perfect marriage and a wonderful life. Until everything changed. Now Fran needs to find her way again and teaching a yoga retreat in Spain offers her just that. Leaving behind a broken marriage she has some very important decisions to make.

Will needs his wife, he needs her to open up to him if they’re to ever return to the way things once were. But he may have damaged any possibility he had of mending their relationship and now Fran is in Spain and Will is alone.

As both Fran and Will begin to let go of a life that could have been, fate may just find a way of bringing them back together.

From the best-selling author of The Many Colours of Us comes an emotional story perfect for fans of Katie Marsh, Amanda Prowse and Sheila O’Flanagan

Amazon: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Things-Need-Say-emotional-bestselling-ebook/dp/B076PV3DZ7/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1526812362&sr=1-1&keywords=the+things+we+need+to+say

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/37669968-the-things-we-need-to-say?ac=1&from_search=true

 

6 The Things We Need to Say_Concept

Guest post:  My top three things to do in Costa Dorada this summer

The Spanish region of Catalonia runs down the Costa Brava and Costa Dorada and takes in parts of the Pyrenees as well. It is made up of four regions BarcelonaGironaLleida, and Tarragona.

I decided to set part of my second novel in the area around Tarragona and the Costa Dorada as it is an area I know and love and have spent many happy summers there. The beaches of Salou and Cambrils are amazing and if you visit you will probably stay very near one of these.

If you do visit (and who knows, maybe reading The Things We Need to Say will make you want to!), here are my top three favourite things to do in the area:

  1. A Day in Tarragona

Tarrogona is the main city on this stretch of the coastline. It is a busy bustling place with many shops and, like so many Mediterranean cities, is absolutely brilliant for people watching. There are lots of lovely pavement restaurants, plenty of sangria, gorgeously painted squares, a sandy beach, a casino and a medieval cathedral – what more could you want of a city?!

It was also the capital of Roman Spain and, like Fran in my book, I’m fascinated by the Romans. The Museu Nacional Arqueoligic is well worth a visit to give you and idea of how magnificent this area was in the first century the Museu d’Historia de Tarragona covers the three main Roman sites that you can still visit – the Circus, the Forum and the Amphitheatre.

Booklover Worm Guest Post Photo

2. Cambrils

If you stay in the busier resort of Salou, where Fran and her friends stay, you might enjoy a day in the quieter seaside town of Cambrils. It still has a big fishing community and lots of amazing tapas restaurants. The beach is a lot quieter too! Cambrils is about 6km from Salou and you can get there on a boat or, if you’re feeling brave, you can hire a bike.

And speaking of bikes…

3. Salou Downhill Biking

Jake’s business in The Things We Need to Say is based directly on Salou Downhill Biking, which is one of the best days out you can have in the area. Like Jake, Rob and Co will take you up the mountains in the National Park and you can cycle back down again, passing through old Catalonian villages, vineyards and olive groves. It really is idyllic – it’s much cooler in the mountains and a lot less busy. You can even get to stop for a traditional Catalonian lunch or a wine tasting. Find out more at http://www.downhillbikessalou.com/

Finally, for those of you with perhaps more energy than me and who want a really fun family day out, Porta Ventura theme park is in Salou as well and you can even stay at the park itself.

I hope you love the Costa Dorada as much as I do, even if you only visit it through the pages of my book!

 

 

About Rachel Burton

IMG_o7m8wqRachel Burton has been making up stories since she first learned to talk. After many false starts she finally made one up that was worth writing down.
After graduating with a degree in Classics and another in English, she didn’t really know what to do when she grew up. She has worked as a waitress, a paralegal and a yoga teacher.
She has spent most of her life between Cambridge and London but now lives in Leeds with her boyfriend and three cats. The main loves of her life are The Beatles and very tall romantic heroes.
Her debut novel THE MANY COLOURS OF US was an Amazon Kindle bestseller. Her second, THE THINGS WE NEED TO SAY, is out in May 2018. She is currently working on her third book about a woman who followed the love of her life to a city in northern England. It has no autobiographical elements at all…..maybe.

Find her on Twitter & Instagram as @bookish_yogi or search Facebook for Rachel Burton Author. She is always happy to talk books, writing, music, cats and how the weather in Yorkshire is rubbish. She is mostly dreaming of her next holiday…

http://www.instagram.com/bookish_yogi

http://www.twitter.com/bookish_yogi

http://www.rachelburtonwrites.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “#BlogTour #GuestPost : The Things We Need to Say by Rachel Burton. @NeverlandBT @bookish_yogi

  1. beereaderbooks

    Loved this book so much, great review! I loved the recommendations of what to do in Costa Dorado this book definitely does get you craving a visit

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s