#Blog Blitz #Review: Murder Game by Caroline Mitchell. @bookouture @Caroline_writes

I am thrilled to be taking part in the blog blitz for the latest in the DS Ruby Preston series. I have a review for you so keep reading to see what I thought and be sure to check out the other fabulous bloggers on the blitz too!  Many thanks to Bookouture for letting me have a copy of the book for review and for letting me be part of this blog blitz.

Blurb:  A serial killer is playing a terrifying game of life or death with his victims. After he captures them, a countdown begins. He marks the time by sending clues to the whereabouts of the women he has taken in three disturbing images: alive, tortured, dead

In a race against the clock, East London Detective Ruby Preston must play the twisted killer’s terrifying murder game and decipher the clues before more women die… 

But this isn’t the first time the police have seen such a sickening crime. The notorious Lonely Hearts Killer, Mason Gatley, was put behind bars ten years ago for murdering six women in exactly the same chilling way. Desperate for more information, Ruby persuades her boyfriend, Nathan Crosby, to use his criminal connections to set up a dangerous meeting. Because to catch this killer, she needs to think like one… 

But the closer Ruby grows to the dark and charming Mason Gatley, the more worried her team become. Is Mason really helping her catch the killer? Or is he lining Ruby up to be his next victim?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Peter James will be hooked by this dark and utterly disturbing thriller, packed with twists until the final page.

Amazon Links:          UK: http://amzn.to/2v1l8v5

US: http://amzn.to/2umrDqp

My Rating: 4/5 

Review: I’ll admit now I had trouble writing this review. This is the first of the DS Ruby Preston series that I’ve read and while it works on its own I think you would get more out of it having read the previous books first. There are character relationships in the book that have clearly been developed from the previous two books so in not reading them you miss out on some of the depth and understanding of the background to them. 

However, the main focus of the story is the murders of women that have been set up by the killer and have an experience that is completely different from the one they were expecting.  The killer plays and taunts with his victims and the police. The investigation is, as I would expect many are, convoluted and confusing with lots of hints, leads and dead ends. The killings are very similar to those carried out by Mason Gately years before and as he is currently in prison for his murders the Ruby decides questioning him is a good idea despite the risks to herself. 

The story is definitely fast paced and gripping but, at times, also a bit confusing.  There are a lot of characters be them victims, family, friends or police and I found it occasionally tricky to keep track of who was who, something I suspect would be less of a problem for someone who has read the previous two books. The scenes with Mason Gately were creepy and made me want to skip past them so I could stop reading about him because he made my skin crawl.  I found the scenes with the current killer in them fascinating.  Although your first instinct is to hate him for what he has done there was a humanity to him which added so much deooth and prevented him from being a cliché. 

I enjoyed this book, it’s definitely one you can read and disappear into.  It’s very easy to get caught up in the fast pace, and the feelings of Ruby and the victims as the story progresses. With that in mind I have two recommendations for you before you read this book, 1. Read the previous books first and 2. Makes sure you have plenty of time free when you start reading, you’ll need it because you’ll struggle to put this book down!

Author bio:  

USA Today Bestselling Thriller Author.

Originally from Ireland, Caroline lives with her family, parrot and two dogs in a pretty village on the coast of Essex. A former police detective, Caroline has worked in CID and specialised in roles dealing with vulnerable victims, high-risk victims of domestic abuse, and serious sexual offences. Published by Bookouture and Thomas & Mercer, she now writes full time and all her books have become number 1 best sellers in their categories.

Her fast-paced DC Jennifer Knight thrillers carry a hint of the supernatural and are weaved from Caroline’s personal experiences in the police and paranormal.

Set in Shoreditch, London, her DS Ruby Preston series is described as “terrifying, addictive serial killer thrillers”. 

Caroline also writes psychological thrillers, the most recent, Witness, has been described as “thrilling, tense, exciting, dark and twisted in the best possible way”.

Author Social Media Links:

www.caroline-writes.com

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3076677.Caroline_Mit

https://twitter.com/Caroline_writes

www.pinterest.com/Writeparanormal

https://www.facebook.com/CMitchellAuthor/

 

4 thoughts on “#Blog Blitz #Review: Murder Game by Caroline Mitchell. @bookouture @Caroline_writes

  1. Great blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring
    writers? I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there
    that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any recommendations?
    Many thanks!

    Like

    1. Thanks! I’ve only ever tried WordPress so can’t comment on the other options but I would suggest trying something for free first. Better that than commit to a paid option and find out you don’t like it but have to keep paying for a while. God luck with your website!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s