Blog Tour Review: The House by Simon Lelic

I am thrilled to be taking part in this blog tour. From the moment I received a key in an envelope and a code for a website I’ve been intrigued by this book and couldn’t wait to read it. Now I’ve read it and I was not disappointed. Read on to see my review.

Blurb:  Londoners Jack and Syd moved into the house a year ago. It seemed like their dream home: tons of space, the perfect location, and a friendly owner who wanted a young couple to have it. So when they made a grisly discovery in the attic, Jack and Syd chose to ignore it. That was a mistake.Because someone has just been murdered outside their back door. And now the police are watching them.

Rating: 4.5/5 

Review:  I was hooked from the first page of this book. I read it in two sittings which for me, at the moment, is pretty much unheard of.  I found it atmospheric and unsettling and was slightly regretting starting at night when I live somewhere really quiet and it was dark outside. 

I really enjoyed the way the story was written. Using only two perspectives really showed how the characters were affected by what was going on and how they were both dealing with current events and their own individual problems. 

I found this story engrossing and gripping throughout and would recommend this to anyone who enjoys psychological thrillers or crime fiction. 

Leave a Reply

