Blog Tour Review: Block 46 by Johana Gustawsson

block 46 blog tour poster

Synopsis:  Evil remembers…

Falkenberg, Sweden. The mutilated body of talented young jewellery designer, Linnea Blix, is found in a snow-swept marina.

Hampstead Heath, London. The body of a young boy is discovered with similar wounds to Linnea’s.

Buchenwald Concentration Camp, 1944. In the midst of the hell of the Holocaust, Erich Hebner will do anything to see himself as a human again.

Are the two murders the work of a serial killer, and how are they connected to shocking events at Buchenwald? Emily Roy, a profiler on loan to Scotland Yard from the Canadian Royal Mounted Police, joins up with Linnea’s friend, French true-crime writer Alexis Castells, to investigate the puzzling case. They travel between Sweden and London, and then deep into the past,as a startling and terrifying connection comes to light.

BLOCK 46 COVER AW.indd

 

My thoughts so far:
So unfortunately I’ve not finished reading this book and therefore am unable to write a complete review.  For various reasons the last few weeks have been tricky and time has run away from me, so much so that I also got my date on the blog tour wrong and only realised too late that it was today.   Huge apologies to everyone concerned for this.

Having said that, I have started reading the book and so far it is definitely living up to my expectations.  The translation is so good that at one point I had to double check that it was a translation at all.  Usually with books not originally written in English it is obvious that they have been translated but in this case it isn’t.

As for the story itself, I’m not a fan of anything set during either world war though I do read and watch the occasional book/film relating to them.  I don’t deny anything that happened by any means but I do find it hard at times to believe that people could be so cruel to each other as to commit the atrocities that occurred, particularly in the concentration camps as mentioned in this book.  Despite this I agreed to read and review this book was because the premise was so intriguing, none of the events seem at all connected and the character in Buchenwald, Erich, is trying to see himself as human again, something that intrigued me greatly because I wonder how anyone would manage that in those circumstances.

The story, while not action-adventure or necessarily happening at break-neck speed is quite fast moving.  Events start unfolding from page one and, for me, haven’t let up yet.  There are dates, times and locations at the top of each chapter and to start with I found them a little tricky to follow but within a few chapters as the story was starting to unfold, they became easier to follow and them being there helped the story, in my opinion.

I also really like the different perspectives of the police in Sweden, the way we can see Olofsson’s thoughts and feelings towards the other characters, particularly his police colleague Bergstrom is quite unusual and stands out quite strongly for me.

While I haven’t finished the book yet, I will definitely be finishing it and will be posting another review at that time.

 

Johana Photo

Author Bio:  Born in 1978 in Marseille and with a degree in political science, Johana Gustawsson has worked as a journalist for the French press and television. She married a Swede and now lives in London. She was the co-author of a bestseller, On se retrouvera, published by Fayard Noir in France, whose television adaptation drew over 7 million viewers in June 2015. She is working on the next book in the Roy & Castells series

Leave a Reply

