Blog Tour Review: On Thin Ice by Aven Ellis

tour-banner

Blurb

Holly Johansson knows some things in her life are certain after college graduation:

1.) It’s a long road to become a full-time author.

2.) She’ll need to work to pay her bills.

3.) And Dallas Demons superstar Matt Rhinelander will never return her feelings.

Holly knows her unrequited crush on the partying hockey player is ridiculous. There’s no way Matt would be attracted to a woman who prefers nights in watching TV or reading books when he’s known for his frequent bar hops and fast lifestyle. Obviously he would never see her as anything other than his teammate’s little sister.

Yet Holly is drawn to the other side of Matt—the man she knows has always been thoughtful and easy to talk to whenever she’s been alone with him. It is this Matt that fueled the crush Holly has on him. And she knows it will always be just that—a secret crush.

Or will it?

Because when Matt helps Holly through a crisis, her heart begins to believe that there might be feelings on his part, too. After a night of hard partying puts Matt in jeopardy with the Dallas Demons, can Holly be the one to save him? And when Matt admits he sees her as more than Nate Johansson’s sister, will it put both of them on thin ice?

Links

Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32505490-on-thin-ice

Amazon – mybook.to/thinice

coverlargest805

 

My Rating: 3.5/5

Review: This is the first book I have read by this author and I liked it a lot but it didn’t grab me quite enough for me to rate it higher.  Holly, one of the main characters was brilliant, I liked her a lot and could identify with her a great deal from the Harry Potter clothing to the fact she would rather stay home than go out partying.  Matt was also a good character but I found him a little too immature and didn’t connect with him as well as I did with Holly.

This is a nice, easy to read story that you can guess the ending of fairly early on but that doesn’t detract from the enjoyment of the story itself as you get to watch the relationships unfold and change as they get to know each other.  There’s not a lot  more I can say about the book because it didn’t wow me as much as I’d hoped it might and as a lot of it is character development to say more would just spoil it too much.  I felt there was a lot of emphasis on brand names which have never been of interest to me and still aren’t and I think things like that are part of the reason why I didn’t enjoy the book more, or to put it another way it’s me not the book.  The story is light and fun but with some serious issues in it but just wasn’t for me, much as I would like it to have been.  However, with the time of year it’s set during this is an ideal book if you want to cosy up over the holidays and read a light, slightly fairytale romance.  It is definitely a warm, comforting read for dark, cold winter nights.

 

About Author

I live in the Dallas area with my family. I enjoy clipping out recipes I will never get around to trying, working out, and chatting with friends on social media. I’m a hockey nut (Go Stars!) and watch as much as humanly possible. I also love shopping and fashion and admit to being obsessed with whatever the Duchess of Cambridge is wearing. In addition to be obsessed with the Duchess, I’m equally obsessed with any show or cookbook featuring Gordon Ramsay.

Links

Website/Blog – http://avenellis.com/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/@AvenEllis

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/AvenEllis1

Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7265661.Aven_Ellis

Amazon Page – http://www.amazon.co.uk/Aven-Ellis/e/B00GHUYO90/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1455968038&sr=1-1

Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/avenellis/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

