Review: One Christmas in Paris by Mandy Baggot

One Christmas in Paris

 Blurb:  They say Paris is the City of Love, so bring your je ne sais quoi and don’t forget the mistletoe!

Ava and her best friend Debs arrive in Paris just as the snow starts to fall. The Eiffel Tower glitters gold and the scent of spiced wine is all around, but all Ava can think about is Leo, her no-good, cheating ex.

Debs is on a mission to make Ava smile again, and as they tour the Christmas markets, watch lamplight glittering on the river Seine, and eat their body weight in pain-au-chocolat, Ava remembers there’s more to life than men … Until they cross paths with handsome, mysterious photographer Julien with his French accent and hazelnut eyes that seem to see right inside her.

Ava can’t ignore the intense chemistry between them, but her fingers have been burned before and she can’t forget it, especially when her ex, Leo, starts texting again. Can Ava really trust Julien – and what exactly is his secret?

Will Ava go home with a broken heart, or will she find true love amongst the cobbled streets of Paris?

Join Ava and Julien in the most romantic city in the world this Christmas, as they discover the importance of being true to themselves, and learn how to follow their hearts.

One Christmas in Paris is a gorgeous, laugh-out-loud romantic comedy – perfect for fans of Jane Costello, Miranda Dickinson and Lucy Diamond.


My Rating: 5/5

Review:  Last year around this time I read Rebecca Raisin’s The Little Bookshop on the Seine and at the end of it wanted to hop on the first train to Paris.  This year I’ve read this book and had exactly the same reaction. 

Ava goes to Paris on the spur of the moment, days before Christmas, with best friend Debs who is determined that she should have some fun and get over her cheating ex Leo.  Within hours of being in Paris they’ve met Julien and Didier who they share a meal with and then more. Julien and Ava don’t exactly hit it off straight away but there is a spark there which grows as Julien shows Ava (and the reader) his favourite parts of Paris.  

The descriptions of Paris; the lights, the architecture, the food and the characters reactions to everything are what make this story special. I liked Ava and Julien, their vulnerabilities (for different reasons) made them realistic and genuine.  As the story progresses their feelings about each other change but what doesn’t change is Ava’s enjoyment of Paris and its food, especially Camembert. There was a point where she was dunking bread into garlic butter and it was so well described I wanted some myself! Ava’s enthusiasm for the city along with the amazing descriptions make this not only a love story set at Christmas but a love story about the city itself. 

There is so much more I could mention but if I did that this review would go on for days! Suffice it to say if you already love Paris or have read The Little Bookshop on the Seine then chances are you will love this book too. If you have never been to Paris but want to, or have not read any books set there then give this a go, as well as being a magical story it’s also very evocative. It’s almost a travel guide to the city from the point of someone who knows it inside and out, but written in such a way that you feel you are there experiencing everything as the characters do and no travel book I’ve ever read can give that level of warmth, light and joy.  

This is a delightful story which is perfect for Christmas or even just autumn/winter when the weather is far from pleasant and you want to escape without having to move from your cosy reading spot. Ideal with a mug of hot chocolate with cream on top. So get your drink, wrap up in blankets or whatever your usual coverings are and be prepared to be whisked off to the city of light.

Many thanks to the author and Bookouture for letting me have a copy if this in exchange for a very honest review.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s