Blog Tour Review: Peanuts and Eggcups by Sara Mendes da Costa

Peanuts & Egg Cups FRONT.JPG

Blurb:   For Maggie Parsons there’s only ever been one man: the stunningly delicious Luke Henderson. Unfortunately, he left her, without explanation, after their ‘first night’ together …breaking her heart in the process.

Now ten years on, without any contact, he’s back and going to her school reunion. Great! And, to confuse matters…so is his suave, sexy, brother Tony who makes a major play for Maggie, then turns up with his insufferable – supposedly ex – fiancée!

Via the reunion, a black eye, getting the sack (as a result) a madcap girlie holiday and juggling her confused emotions around the two alluring brothers…Maggie starts to build a picture of what she really wants in life.

Trouble is, Maggie’s a pawn in a game she doesn’t even know she’s playing …and things are about to get a whole lot more complicated.

Available from Amazon UK

 

My Rating: 3.5/5

Review:  When I read the blurb for this book I thought it sounded light and funny would be a good read to counteract books like Valentina that get you gripped and so involved that you almost forget to breathe while reading.  However, in order for the book to be what I expected I would have to like or have some sympathy for the main character and in this case I didn’t.  While she did grow on me through the story and it was good to see her character develop I didn’t take to her at all, I found her childish, immature and unable to think for herself for a good part of the book.

Maggie has a job she doesn’t seem to enjoy but then loses it for arriving one day with a black eye, which leads to her temping (after a bit) and starting to realise, with the help of her friends, that she needs to find something that she wants to do, not get a job just to pay the bills.  I liked that she realised this and decided to do something about it.  This realisation as well as a few guiding nudges from friends seems to have been the starting point in her beginning to think more for herself and become a bit more mature.  There were quite a lot of stories in this book that involved Maggie in some way and that was my other problem with the book.  For me it was simply far too long, most of the books I have that are similar to this are around the 500 page mark whereas this came in at a little over 700 and I think those extra 200 pages simply complicated things.  There was a lot of description in the book, which I found unecessary so if that was reduced and the page count lowered I think the book would work much better, at times I felt like I was reading and reading but not actually making any progress.

Don’t get me wrong, this is  not a bad book at all, if it were I would have given it a far lower rating, it just didn’t work for me.  The pace did improve later on and things fairly whizzed along then with secrets being revealed and confusions being sorted out but that wasn’t enough to save it for me.  I think this book might be better for the New Adult market where people are just starting to discover what the world of work is like and that making your own decisions is important for your own happiness.  This is definitely a book that will appeal to many, sadly though I wasn’t one of them.

 

Many thanks to Authoright for giving me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

 

Peanuts and Eggcups Banner

About Sara Mendes da Costa

Sara Mendes da Costa is the voice of the BT Speaking Clock; the fourth person to hold this prestigious title since 1936.

A successful, world-renowned voiceover artist, her dulcet tones are easily recognisable on television, radio, film and across countless media.

Never far from the press, she’s known for her appearances on BBC Breakfast, ITV This Morning, Children in Need, Wake up to Wogan and The Today Programme, and balances her prolific voiceover career with her passion and commitment as a novelist.

Peanuts & Eggcups, her debut novel – hotly anticipated by the industry – is “The perfect & highly addictive reading companion for women’s fiction fans”. `

A lover of laughter, creativity, great storytelling and a wee dram, Sara adores writing novels and seeks to entertain, uplift and inspire.

Her upcoming novels: Time & Time Again & Maggie Ever After, are expected in 2017.

Visit: www.saramendesdacosta.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/speakingclock.saramendesdacosta

Twitter: https://twitter.com/BTSpeakingClock

Leave a Reply

