WWW Wednesdays


WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. It’s open for anyone to join in and is a great way to share what you’ve been reading! All you have to do is answer three questions and share a link to your blog in the comments section of Sam’s blog.
The three Ws are:
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

I am currently reading:

It Started at Sunset Cottage
Kate Marshall is slowly getting her life back on track after losing her fiancé. As an author she has been able to hide herself away from the world and its expectations – but now one of her books has been optioned for a film and Hollywood suddenly comes knocking on her door!

When Kate is given the opportunity to stay at a beautiful country retreat and concentrate on the screenplay, it’s an offer she can’t refuse. Encouraged by her best friend, sharp-tongued single mum Sarah, Kate sees it’s finally time to stop letting life pass her by.

Looking for confidence and inspiration in the idyllic Cotswold countryside, the last thing Kate expects is for Timothy Calder, A-list actor and leading man in the movie adaptation of her book, to turn up on her doorstep, hoping to lie low after his latest tabloid scandal! But after a rocky start, with Tim narrowly avoiding death by watering can, they find they have a few things in common: a liking for Lady Grey tea, walnut whips and bad ‘knock knock’ jokes. Actually, the bad jokes are just Tim.

As an unlikely friendship begins to blossom, and with circumstances repeatedly throwing them together, is Sunset Cottage where both Kate and Tim’s lives will really start?

I’ve only just started reading this but it’s definitely proving interesting so far.

I recently finished reading:

Concealed in Death (In Death, #38)

The Little French Guesthouse

Snowblind (Dark Iceland)

 

 

 

 

 

I read all of these over the Bank holiday weekend which made for a lovely, lazy few days.  I am really enjoying reading the In Death series, they’re turning into comfort books for me so it’s just as well I still have plenty of them left to read.  I absolutely loved The Little French Guesthouse and was patiently won over by Snow Blind. Reviews for these will be up within a week or so.

I am planning on reading next:

Mathew's Tale

 

1818, Carluke, Lanarkshire.

Mathew Fleming returns home to Scotland following heroic service at the Battle of Waterloo. After seven years away, he is a ghostly presence to those he left behind.

But Mathew is ambitious and soon becomes a man of influence in his county and beyond. Yet through all his success, he still hides the loss of his one true love.

When a terrible act of murder occurs, Mathew must choose between the rule of blood and the rule of law. And as a man of honour with a warrior’s instincts, he embarks on a journey of vengeance that will test every sinew of his faith in mankind…

This is a book group choice which I have to admit I’m not sure about.  I do like historical crime but I’m not entirely convince this will be to my liking, however I will soon find out as this is next on my to read list.

Friday Evening, Eight O’Clock

 

Tasha is a dreamer in search of a new dream.

She’s bored with Pilates. She’s never tried yoga. She doesn’t even have a driver’s license. She lives a pretty ordinary life as a freelance writer who battles the occasional flow of melancholy with the regular flow of martinis. Nestled into her couch, her television remote in one hand and a cold adult beverage in the other, she’s found a favorite way to pass the hours on a Friday evening. It’s comfortable and familiar, but it’s not exactly an exciting way to live. With two of her closest friends, a bossy mother, an eighty-two-year-old grandmother, and Griffin, her fat yellow Labrador at her side, she knows that there has to be something better out there.

But where?

When she gets an unexpected offer to relocate to France to write a magazine column, she thinks her circumstances are improving. But life in a new country isn’t all pêches et la crème. Now far away from her comfort zone, Tasha must find the inner strength to start a new career and navigate the bizarre and unknown world of professional jealousy, intrigue, and conflicting personalities in a very foreign land.

It’s enough to make a girl yearn for those quiet nights on the couch.

I’m reviewing this as part of the blog tour hosted by @HelloChickLit and my review will be up on 13th May.  I loved the sound of this book when the tour was announced and am really looking forward to reading it and taking part in the tour.

 

 

4 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays

  1. I hope you end up liking ‘Matthew’s Tale.’ I find some book selections I think I’ll hate become my favorites. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

    1. Thanks for having me! It’s frustrating when I hate books I expected to enjoy so really hoping this one that I’m not sure of will turn out to be really good.

      Like

  2. I have been wanting to continue the In Death series for some time now… I’ve only read the first book so far, but it was definitely entertaining. I hope you’ll enjoy your books this week! 🙂

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    Like

    1. I’ve not read the whole of the series but definitely enjoyed the ones I have read. I don’t find them too demanding which helps.

      I’d love to know what you think of Daughter of Smoke and Bone. That’s on my tbr though no idea when I’ll get round to reading it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

