Review: Summer at Rose Island by Holly Martin

Summer at Rose Island (White Cliff Bay #3)

Blurb: Fall in love with the gorgeous seaside town of White Cliff Bay this summer and enjoy long sunny days, beautiful beaches and… a little romance.

Darcy Davenport is ready for a fresh start. Determined to leave a string of disastrous jobs and relationships behind her, she can’t wait to explore White Cliff Bay and meet the locals.

When Darcy swims in the crystal clear waters of the bay, she discovers the charming Rose Island Lighthouse. But it’s not just the beautiful building that she finds so intriguing…

Riley Eddison doesn’t want change. Desperate to escape the memories of his past, he lives a life of solitude in the lighthouse. Yet he can’t help but notice the gorgeous woman who swims out to his island one day.

Darcy is drawn to the mysterious and sexy Riley, but when it seems the town is trying to demolish his home, she soon finds herself having to pick sides.

She’s fallen in love with White Cliff Bay. But is that all Darcy’s fallen for?

Pull up a deck chair, sink back with a bowl of strawberry ice cream and pick up the summer read you won’t be able to put down.

My Rating: 5/5

Review: Having read the first two books in the White Cliff Bay series I was really looking forward to this one and it exceeded all of my expectations.  This is not to suggest that the first two books were not great, they were, nor is it meant to imply that my expectations were low, as they were definitely not, but this book is in my opinion the best one yet.  While the first two books have great stories for me this one had more depth to it.  I love the romance in the previous books and was rooting for things to work out well but the extra twists and surprises in this book are what makes it stand out for me.  As with the previous books I got a feel for the town and the surrounding area, the relaxed and friendly nature of it and its residents really comes through and the desire of them to include Riley in the community is just how you want living in a close knit town to be.

While Riley is clearly a significant character in the book, this story is really about Darcy who comes to White Cliff Bay to try and have a fresh start away from her parents who disapprove of the choices she has made in life.  Having visited the town during summer holidays when she was a child it makes sense for her to return there when she is looking for somewhere to move to.  Soon she is getting to know the town and its residents and then she discovers that the lighthouse is under threat and cannot stop herself becoming involved in trying to save that too.

Although this is the third in the series it can easily be read as a stand-alone.  There are however, some characters from the previous two books who appear in it and it was lovely to meet them again and, in meeting them, remember their stories and how they got to where they are now.  All of the characters are well-written and realistic and i could easily see myself meeting people like them on a street somewhere although I have to say my favourites were Geri and Anne. I  want to be like them when I’m their age, embarrassing younger people and being inappropriate. They were great fun even though they were only in it briefly.  There are so many things I could say about this book, some of which would be giving away too much and others need to be discovered rather than read about in a review so I will simply say that I loved this book.  I went through about every emotion there is while I was reading it, I got frustrated when people were being stupid, annoyed at some people’s behaviour, really happy when things worked out, I almost cheered on one or two occasions.  There were a couple of times when I completely identified with Darcy and times when I didn’t understand her at all.  There were some twists and surprises that I didn’t see coming and one or two that I suspected were going to happen but even when they did they were handled in such a way that they didn’t feel predictable at all.

All in all this is an excellent book whether you have read the previous two books in the series or not. As the blurb suggest this is a book to be read in the sun with some ice cream (it doesn’t have to be strawberry!) but the book works equally well on a cold April evening with hot chocolate.  Whatever you choose to eat/drink to accompany it you will soon find yourself lost in the dramas and dilemmas of Darcy’s new life in White Cliff Bay.

Many thanks to Bookouture and Netgalley for letting me have a copy of this in exchange for an honest review.

Summer at Rose Island is out on 13th May 2016 and can be pre-ordered at Amazon UK and Amazon US.

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Summer at Rose Island by Holly Martin

  1. Hello, nice to read your review, my friend! :). I would like to read this novel and enjoy the scenery described and the little romance. If you don’t mind check out some of my book reviews too 😀 ~Alexa~

    Like

Leave a Reply

