Review: Diary of a Stressed Out Mother ‘Bedlam’ by Nicola Kelsall

Diary of a Stressed Out Mother: 'Bedlam'

Blurb:  Dora Loveday is a beleaguered mother of four kids, two unruly dogs, a psychotic cat and wife to an exasperated and long-suffering husband. Clinging doggedly on to her sanity in the face of unrelenting adversity, she records the chaos and madness of her family life in this laugh-out-loud comic romp of a diary.

My Rating: 5/5

Review:   I was intrigued by the sound of this when I was asked if I wanted to review it.  Not being a mother I haven’t read many books of this type, they’ve never really appealed to me but this one was somehow different.  I have to admit it wasn’t quite what I expected, though this is a diary it only covers January, February and March (for some reason I thought it covered a full year) but don’t let that stop you reading, this is a gem of a book and I’m hoping this first of a series that will cover at least one full year in the lives of Dora Loveday and her family.

I can’t say a lot about the content without risking spoilers (which I don’t do) but this is a brilliantly written book, it’s easy to read, funny and the characters are excellently crafted and completely realistic.  In the book Dora not only has to contend with her husband and children but also pets, her mother, her in-laws, her friends and a few other people as well and her trials and tribulations with them all made me glad that my home life is a lot calmer than hers.

If you want something a little bit different but realistic and funny then I would definitely recommend this book.  I’ve also been advised that there are plans to publish a second book covering April, May and June.

Many thanks to the author for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

Diary of a Stressed out Mother can bought from Amazon UK and Amazon US

 

Leave a Reply

