Review: One Wish in Manhattan by Mandy Baggot

One Wish in Manhattan

Blurb:  It’s the most wonderful time of the year… to fall in love

The temperature is dropping, snow is on its way and Hayley Walker is heading for New York with one wish on her mind…to start over.

With her nine year-old daughter Angel, Hayley is ready for an adventure. From hot chocolates and horse-drawn carriage rides in Central Park, to ice-skating at the Rockefeller Centre, and Christmas shopping on 5th Avenue – they soon fall in love with the city that never sleeps.

But there’s more to New York than the bright twinkly lights and breathtaking skyscrapers. Angel has a Christmas wish of her own – to find her real dad.

While Hayley tries to fufil her daughter’s wish, she crosses paths with Billionaire Oliver Drummond. Restless and bored with fast living, there’s something intriguing about him that has Hayley hooked.

Determined to make her daughter’s dream come true, can Hayley dare to think her own dreams might turn into reality – could A New York Christmas turn into a New York Forever?

Travel to the Big Apple this Christmas and join Hayley and Oliver as they both realise that life isn’t just about filling the minutes…it’s about making every moment count.

My Rating:  5/5

Review:  While Christmas may be over there are some types of books that are ideal for wet, windy or snowy winter days, this is one of them.  This was my first book by Mandy Baggot and I was not disappointed. I was engrossed from the beginning even though I disliked Oliver intensely but after being assured by the author and another reader that he was not like this through the entire book I decided to give him a second chance and boy did he repay me! I love stories like this one where they are not heavy but cover serious issues and/or personal change or revelation in one or more main character and this book delivered on all of these. For me fiction has to have an amount of realism in it to be believable and this had it in bucket loads. The characters were brilliantly written and leapt off the page and the locations were clearly amazing. I’ve wanted to visit New York for years and due to the amount of places Hayley and Angel visited I feel like I’ve been on holiday with them. I cannot fault this book, it was an emotional roller coaster from start to finish and I loved every second of it, I enjoyed this book immensely and will definitely be reading more by this author, though next time I will make sure I have a plentiful supply of tissues to hand.

Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for letting me have a copy in exchange for an honest review.

2 thoughts on “Review: One Wish in Manhattan by Mandy Baggot

  1. Thank you so much for this lovely, lovely review. I’m really glad you enjoyed your holiday in New York with Hayley, Oliver, Angel and the rest of the gang!

    Mandy 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

