Review of The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Girl on the Train

Blurb: Rachel catches the same commuter train every morning. She knows it will wait at the same signal each time, overlooking a row of back gardens. She’s even started to feel like she knows the people who live in one of the houses. ‘Jess and Jason’, she calls them. Their life – as she sees it – is perfect. If only Rachel could be that happy.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough.

Now everything’s changed. Now Rachel has a chance to become a part of the lives she’s only watched from afar.

Now they’ll see; she’s much more than just the girl on the train…

My Rating: 4/5

Review: This book intrigued me as it had similarities to one of my favourite films Rear Window, so between that and all of the positive reviews it was getting I knew I had to read it and see for myself what it was like. This is one of the few books I’ve ever read in a day and that says a lot about how much it grabbed me. I wasn’t a huge fan of any of the characters, most of them were horrible, nasty or just spineless but that didn’t stop me reading, in fact I’m not sure the book would have worked had they been nice, likeable people. This was a fascinating story and although I had some ideas along the way as to what had happened I didn’t figure it out until near the end which I quite liked. I also liked the way that Rachel’s story was not revealed immediately but slowly over the course of the book, it explained a lot of her strange behaviour and, I think, drew me in more than it would have done, had it all been explained in the first few chapters.

All in all I found this to be a really good book and it will be interesting to see what the author produces next.

Leave a Reply

