Review of 2015 and Thank You!

twitter profile picI wasn’t sure about doing a blog post today but then I realised that I have had such a strange and fantastic year that I need to do this.

I ended 2014 with a psychology degree and an idea of where to go next but also a need to have some time off after what had been quite a stressful and turbulent few years.  I already loved reading and set my Goodreads challenge for this first time because I was determined that reading more would be part of my year off from study, etc.  To achieve this goal I also joined a book group which is still going strong and introducing me to lots of new authors.  Little did I know in those first few months what would happen in the later part of the year.  I had reviewed a few books, but not many at this point and then I discovered NetGalley and started doing reviews for that as well and, I admit, I got a little carried away.  Oops!

Realising that having somewhere other than Goodreads to post reviews would be useful and wanting to get more out of the whole reviewing experience I started my twitter account and it has exceeded my expectations so much.   Then I realised that not having a blog was limiting what I could do so I started this and again have been surprised by the result.  I love using NetGalley but I still can’t get used to the fact that authors and publishers are willing to send me books for review, every time I get a request I get so excited!  I know there are books which I have had for a while and not yet read but please be patient, I’ve spent the last few months of the year trying to get to grips with working while volunteering, blogging, continuing to read and review, juggling 2 Open University courses and dealing with a few other things so while I haven’t read the books yet I promise I will read them.

I have a few plans for next year, some of which are blog related and some not.  I plan on making some small changes to the blog to hopefully make it more user friendly and I am also determined to start posting more regularly, even if it’s only Stacking the Shelves posts at the weekend.  I am continuing with everything I am doing now but I also have a project I want to work on, something that I have wanted to do for years but circumstances and lack of confidence prevented me until now so it will be interesting to see what happens with that.

I volunteered at the Bloody Scotland crime fiction festival this year and it was excellent and I’m hoping to do that again in September 2016.  I’ve also applied to volunteer on World Book Night 0n 23rd April 2016 so fingers crossed I get accepted.

I expect 2016 to be a busy but fulfilling year and for once I’m actually looking forward to the New Year so all that remains is for me to say a massive THANK YOU to everyone who has followed me, tweeted and re-tweeted me and generally made the past few months absolutely brilliant.  Thank you to all the bloggers, authors and publishers that have talked to me, given me auto-approval (Bookouture) or just been thrilled that I’ve enjoyed their books.

Hope you all have a brilliant New Year, see you on the other side!

 

 

One thought on “Review of 2015 and Thank You!

Leave a Reply

