The Reading Habits Book Tag

I came across this on my twitter feed when i saw @AggiesLibrary tweet yesterday so I decided I had to get involved so here are my answers:

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

Mostly I read in my lounge on the sofa but sometimes I read in bed if I’ve had a long day and fancy snuggling under the duvet with a good book.

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

Bookmark if I have one to hand, sometimes a pen or something similar.   Otherwise I fold the corner of the page over.  I know some people hate it but I only do it when I have no alternative such as when I’m at work and anything put in the book may fall out and lose my place.

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop at the end of a chapter/a certain amount of pages?

I can stop reading wherever I choose, I don’t mind stopping mid chapter if I’m extremely tired or have to stop suddenly and do something else.  I never take note of what page I start on so never try and read a certain number of pages.

Do you eat or drink while reading?

Yes, usually tea, coffee or, especially at this time of year, hot chocolate.  I will also have snacks and I tend to read in the mornings while having breakfast instead of watching TV.

Multitasking: music or tv while reading?

No. No music, talking or anything else when I’m reading, I can’t concentrate otherwise.

One book at a time or several at once?

Usually one at a time, sometimes more than one but only if they are different genres.

Read at home or everywhere?

Everywhere, but mainly at home.

Can you read while on the move in a car or on the train?

Yep, I can read anywhere at all.  Although I can’t read with tv or music on general traffic noises don’t bother me so reading in a car or train is not a problem though I rarely get the chance.

Read aloud or silently in your head?

Silently, always.

Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

No.  I made the horrendous mistake of reading the last few pages of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince when something major happens, never again!

Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

Either.  If I can read the book without affecting the spine then I will but I’m not precious about my books, they are there to be read and if that means the spine gets broken then it gets broken.

Do you write in books?

Only academic books, never anything else.

Leave a Reply

