Christmas Wishes and Mistletoe Kisses by Jenny Hale

4/5 stars

This is a wonderfully written Christmas book that had me almost wishing it was Christmas the week after I read it (given I have mixed feelings about that time of year it was quite an achievement). The descriptions of the locations in the book were brilliantly done, I can imagine Nick’s house so well that I could easily walk around it without a guide. I liked the characters of Abbey, Nick, Max and their families. All were well rounded and I especially liked Max, he was adorable and came across as intelligent and intuitive. I finished reading this in the early hours of the morning and was especially glad that I had tissues next to my bed because I certainly needed them! The last few pages and the epilogue were almost too much.

I genuinely liked this book but have given it 4 stars rather than 5 because there were some aspects of Abbey’s character that didn’t sit well with me. I appreciate that she is a very family orientated person but she seemed to find Nick’s decision to not have children almost unbelievable and appeared to want to change his mind when his decision was really none of her business. Also I found the way she spoke to him and behaved around him, especially in the beginning of the book quite inappropriate considering he was her employer.

Despite this I will definitely be reading more books by this author and would recommend this as a warm and cosy read for Christmas or for when the weather is miserable outside, as it is today, and all you want to do is curl up with a good book and a hot drink.

Many thanks to Netgalley and Bookouture for letting me have a copy of this in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

