Review of The Little Bookshop on the Seine by Rebecca Raisin

Rating 5/5

The Little Bookshop on the Seine is a Christmas story with a difference. It starts off with Sarah Smith putting a sign for a 50% off sale in her bookshop window, clearly things are not going well but why this is so is not really explored, partly as very soon after this she gets a request from her friend Sophie (who lives in Paris) to swap bookshops for 6 months. Feeling stuck and like her life is on hold as her boyfriend, Ridge Warner, is constantly jetting off to foreign countries for work; she decides to accept Sophie’s offer and heads off to Paris within days. When she arrives things don’t get off to the best start, there are staffing issues, lost property concerns and new rules to learn. However, there are also friendships to be made, surprises to be found and the city itself to experience.

I downloaded one of Rebecca Raisin’s books last Christmas but for some reason never got round to reading it and having read this one, I’m making sure that doesn’t happen again. I am a new fan of hers as this book was excellent. I cannot fault it, the descriptions, especially of Paris, were so well-written that I felt I was there the whole time and when I finished the book I wanted to hop on the next plane so I could experience it all for myself. The relationships with the bookshop staff, her boyfriend and the people she meets during the story were all completely realistic and also well-written. I know this may come across as gushing but quite honestly I adored this book. I’ve read a lot of books, especially this year, and I have to say this is one of the best I have read and definitely the best Christmas book I have read so far. If you haven’t read this book yet, I highly recommend it. A very well deserved 5 star rating from me.

Many thanks to Netgalley and Carina UK for letting me have a copy of this in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Review of The Little Bookshop on the Seine by Rebecca Raisin

Leave a Reply

